Home » Departments » Police » Detective Squad

Detective Squad

DetectiveThe Detective Squad is comprised of six investigative units; Burglary Unit, Cyber Crime Unit, Fraud Unit, General Investigations Unit, Property Crimes Unit and Violent Crimes Unit.  The units cover two shifts that work from 7:30 am to 11:30 pm.

Detectives assigned to each unit investigate specific types of crimes that fall within the unit classification, but often each detective is involved in some capacity investigating all manner of crimes that occur within the city.

In the event of a homicide or other serious investigations, any one, and often most, of the detectives assigned to the Detective Squad are involved in the investigation, which includes crime scene investigations.

The supervisors assigned to the Detective Squad are:

Detectives assigned to each unit:

Burglary Unit - Residential & Commercial
Cyber Crime Unit - Computer Forensics and Internet Crimes Against Children
Fraud Unit - Checks & Identity Thefts
General Investigations Unit - All Crime Classifications
(Burglary, Fraud, Property Crimes, Violent Crimes)
Violent Crimes Unit - Robbery, 1st and 2nd Degree Assaults, Shootings, Felony Criminal Threatening

Some functions require a degree of specialization and detectives are assigned accordingly:

Arson Investigators

Auto Theft

Missing Persons (Adult) Investigator
Cold Case Investigations
  • Detective Lucas Hobbs
Polygraph Examiners
  • Officer William Dann III
  • Detective Shaun McKennedy
  • Officer Daniel Wood