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                                 Map/Lot______________________ 
                                  Account______________________ 

 
 

Certification Affidavit 
Elderly Exemption 

 
To Be Read and Acknowledged By The Applicant: 
 
I hereby certify that the Elderly Exemption application with financial documentation submitted to 
the Manchester Assessing Dept. for the Elderly Exemption is complete, true and correct.  
 
I certify under penalty of perjury that the property is owned by: 
 
*A legal resident of New Hampshire for at least 3 consecutive years prior to April 1st of the year the 
exemption is claimed; and 
 
* A legal resident of New Hampshire that is at least 65 years of age as of April 1st in the year in 
which the exemption is claimed. 
 
Additional requirements for this exemption shall be that the property is: 
 

 Owned by a Manchester resident; or 
 

  Owned by a Manchester resident jointly or in common with the residents’ spouse, either of 
whom meets the age requirement for the exemption claimed, and they have been married to 
each other for 5 consecutive years prior to April 1st of the year the exemption is claimed; or 

  
 Owned by a Manchester resident jointly or in common with the residents’ spouse, either of 

whom is 65 years of age or older as of April 1st in the year in which applying; or 
 

 Owned by a Manchester resident, or residents’ spouse, either of whom meets the age 
requirements for the exemption claimed as of April 1st in the year in which the exemption is 
claimed. 

 
 I am not receiving any other Exemption or Credit in any other community within New 

Hampshire and I am not receiving similar benefits in another state, such as the Florida 
Homestead Exemption 

 
 
 

I hereby attest that _______________________________________________________  
is my primary residence.                        (address) 
 
            over 
  



             
   
 
 
Be aware: 
 

 This Exemption cannot be claimed in more than one community within New 
Hampshire or if you are receiving similar benefits in another state, such as the Florida 
Homestead Exemption. 

 
 If your income or asset level changes and there is a possibility that you no longer 

qualify for the exemption, you are obligated by law to advise the Manchester 
Assessing Department. 

 
 If your marital status changes you must notify the Manchester Assessing Department. 

 
 A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if, with the purpose to deceive a public servant in 

the performance of his official function, he makes any written false statement which 
he/she does not believe to be true, or if he/she knowingly creates a false impression in 
this written application for pecuniary or other benefits by omitting information 
necessary to prevent statements therein from being misleading, or if he submits or 
invites reliance on any writing which he/she knows to be lacking in authenticity. RSA 
641:3, II, (a) (b) (d) (supp.) 

 
 

 
I/ We have read the above statements and fully certify that I/we understand them. Any 
misrepresentation may result in court action for recovery. 
 
Signature of applicant___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant (print name) _______________________________________________ Date_______________ 
 
 
Signature of applicant____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant (print name) _______________________________________________ Date_______________ 
 
 
 
This document must be witnessed by Assessing Department staff or notarized 
 
Witness______________________________________________________________ 


